July 18, 2008

  • Bye, Bye Ossie!!!

    No, not Ozzie Osbourne!  It's official!!!  Craig's ossicilator has been officially kicked out of his room!  He's now on just a plain ole ventilator.  Mind you, it's still a ventilator, but it's yet another blessed sign that our little guy is getting a little better day by day by day!! 

    I got to see Craig and Roxane this afternoon for a brief moment prior to heading to the airport for my flight to Little Rock, which I almost missed...but that's a whole 'nother story!  (I'm here for a continuing education course for work and have a SUITE room with FREE Wifi!!!!  Yippee!!!!)  Anywho...I gowned up to go see my Craiggers and told him Miss Libby was here and that I loved him.  His eyes started to open, as he's just semi-sedated now (not in the medicated coma) and I could tell he knew I was there!  It was like a breath of fresh air seeing him respond to my voice!!  I then told him Pastor Alan, our new children's pastor who Craig just adores, was praying for him and that everybody was praying he would get well real soon.  When I mentioned Pastor Alan, I do believe that if Craig could of gotten up and out of his bed. he would of.  He wiggled and tried to moan...and I quickly tried to calm him down. As you can tell little Craig is much more aware of his surroundings...which at times can be a little scary.  I told him his lion was near by and reminded him to stay brave and strong!

    After talking to Craig for a bit, Rox and I went down to the cafeteria for me to grab a bite prior to running to the airport!  Then off to the airport I went and BARELY made it.  I had a connection in St. Louis and then gave a little dance when my suitcase came down the conveyor belt in baggage in Little Rock!!  That was a miracle...especially when I checked it 18 minutes prior to the plane leaving in Kansas City!  Ugh!

    Rick called me after I got settled in the hotel to give me the latest about Craig being switched to the vent.  Rick was so excited he was running from Craig's room to the Ronald McDonald house to go get Roxane so she could see it too!! 

    I'm praying that Craig will keep on progressing so that maybe just maybe sometime next week, he'll get those tubes out and we can hear that precious little voice and laugh again!!! 

    Here's some pictures for today...as to me to blog without having a picture to look at is ALMOST a sin.  Everybody LOVES pictures!  This one is of Craig this past Mother's day getting dedicated.  You see he was so sick as a baby that he never got dedicated.  He got a new suit coat just for the occassion!!  Yeah, he might of been the oldest kiddo getting dedicated this go-round, but it's never too late!  We were all pretty excited about it!!

     Lib's Camera Feb July 08 042

    Can you tell Craig was pretty excited too??  Tee hee hee!

    Lib's Camera Feb July 08 046

    Keep praying folks!

Comments (7)

  • Glad to hear the great news about Craig.

    I can't imagine checking in at KCI just 20 minutes before takeoff.  (Short layover - that's a different matter.)

  • @Romans_837 - Yeah...well, I thought my flight took off at 4:30.  My lovely husband called me thinking I was already at the airport, as I was pulling out of Children's Mercy's parking garage...only to inform me that my flight took off at 4:10!!!  Needless to say I pulled out of their lot at 3:15, met friend at apt near airport at 3:38, got to the airport at 3:48 as flight already started boarding!!! 

    Yeah...HIGHLY not recommended!  It will raise one's level of anxiety AND blood pressure just a tad!

  • You are so sweet Libby. I am glad to hear he is doing better and that he is surrounded by people who love him.

    This is the first I have heard about he new children's pastor since the Freemans left... fill me in when you get a chance, please.

  • I am so glad to hear that Craig is doing so much better and that you made your flight. Take care and have a great trip. You are such a Blessing Libby!!!

    God Bless

    Cathy

  • The battle is not ours..but the Lords!!!    Whoooeee!   Another one for the winning team!

    Im thinking of a song from waaay back at WOLC.........Eric wrote it --I think--  anyway it goes

    Step by step...walking by faith..expecting a miracle

    Yes..step by step...knowing by faith...all things are possible!!

    Something pretty close to that anyway!!                    FAITH WILL FIND A WAY!

  • Hi I am Craig's aunt Lori. He has sure been through alot. I am glad to hear he is getting better. Next time you see him tell him aunt Lori says Hi and Loves him. I don't see him much but I do think of him. Thanks Libby for being there for Rox. Make sure she takes care of her self too. Have a safe trip.

    Lori

  • @llstork - Oh Lori, thanks for tuning in!!  Don't worry, I ALWAYS ask Rox when she last ate and if she hasn't, I  INSIST that she goes and does so immediately after hanging up.  I also try to schedule my visits around a meal so that she has someone to eat with!  Last time she'd already had a sandwich...so I told her to grab a snack!  She's also gone and walked on the treadmill a couple of times at the Ronald McDonald House! 

    I will see Craig either Sunday or Monday when I get back.  I'll be sure to give him hugs and kisses for ya and tell him that you said Hi!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment