Month: April 2008

  • A New Man Enters Heaven's Gate...

    Saturday night update:

    I got the pleasure of going to see Cyndy & the kids this evening.  God definitely has them in the palm of his hands.  We spent an hour or so talking and me loving on Cyndy and the kids.  We had fun laughing and cried together too.  Those kids are so grown up and strong.  They will be good little helpers for their momma!  Cyndy's doing as well as she could be.  I'm amazed by her strength...which is actually a mirror of God's strength in her!

    I believe this family is at a rough spot in life, but has many, many blessings in store for the future.  They are rooted in God...the best place to be when life brings about tragedies!

    Cyndy wanted me to thank everyone for their prayers and well wishes!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    It breaks my heart to even write such a post.  But with permission from Cyndy, I'm writing all of you to let you know that Bob McKinney passed away this morning at 1:30 am at Heartland Hospital.  Funeral arrangements are being made as I type.  Thus far, it sounds like the funeral will be Wednesday morning at WOLC

    Update -- Funeral is set for 10 AM at WOLC on Wednesday.

    Bob McKinney...as I remember him...

    Often times he looked like this:

    BeardedBob.jpg

    That is until summer came around and then he looked like a whole new man...

    Bob.jpg

    Bob was tough as nails and had a powerful testimony to prove it! He was one of the hardest working men I have ever seen, who even had a hard time just sitting down for 10 minutes to chat!  I met Bob when I first started working with his youngest daughter Mia Rose, who is a miracle child!  Bob had questions and I answered them.  I don't always think he always understood why we therapists did everything we did...but he knew it was helping Mia and that we both were "good Christian girls" so it was all good.  Bob had a fun sense of humor and REALLY enjoyed picking on me and of course his wife, Cyndy and three kids, Cody, Holly & Mia.  He had a laugh that was so jolly!!

    Bob&Kids.jpg

    Bob's love for his children ran deep.  He taught Cody how to run a big mower at young age and Cody loved to be his father's right hand assistant while he worked.  He loved to take his kids fishing.  One of my favorite McKinney stories is when Bob & Cyndy surprised the kids with a family vacation.  Somehow sneaking out of the house all the clothes and things they would need and just showing up at their vacation spot!  Fun and everlasting memories!

    Bob&Cyndy.jpg

    Please keep Cyndy and the kids, Cody, Holly and Mia in your prayers.  I'll keep you posted as I hear the final details of the funeral.

    Cyndy, Cody, Holly & Mia Rose...we all love you and don't have the right words to say right now, other than we love you!  Your daddy's with Jesus now...healed FINALLY and at peace!  God bless you all!!