Month: November 2007

  • And Suddenly…Silas appears!!

    Well, it’s been a long weekend and the week is already zooming by.  I had a fabulous weekend celebrating my friend’s babies coming.  Saturday morning, Liz and I headed to our dear friend Jen Owen’s baby shower and had a delightful time playing games, eating yummies and watching Jen open her gifts.  After that…Liz and I had a plan to complete a marthon of registering for baby gifts at Target & Walmart’s super centers in KC since the shower is planned for in about 2 weeks and the baby wasn’t due until Dec 2nd!  By the time we got done we were both tired…the 10 hours we were together paid off and she could rest assured she was ready for her baby shower!

    Sunday was a lovely day of going to church and watching football with the Gann’s.  (Really…I go for Rick’s famous popcorn!!  It’s the bomb diggety!)  We’ve now spent a couple of Sunday’s watching the games with the Gann’s which has been a ton of fun.

    So Monday roles around and I completed a full day of work- THANK GOD (my energy is returning slowly, yet surely).  I was on the phone with someone and then realized missed a call, it was Liz.  My voicemail message from her said, “Ah…Libby, you’re gonna think this is a joke.  But it’s really not.  My water broke this morning and I’m at the hospital having my baby!”  A hunderd things are flying through my head…prayers for Liz and the baby’s health and safety and….oh my goodness….she hasn’t had her shower yet!!!  (Other than a surprize gift card shower.) Thus she has nothing but a stack of gift cards to tend to her early arrival!!!  Of course that was last on Nathan and Liz’s minds as they had other pressing issues at hand.  (Pardon the pun!)

    I volunteered for Aristole (their dog) duty and to run to Target to get the barest of essentials to get them by until the shower in 2 weeks.  Thankfully I had remember Liz’s tastes and had the registry to help me pick just the right items…pj’s, mittens, hats, baby wipes, blankets, etc.  I had so much excited energy about the baby coming and was so relieved to have such a task to put it towards a good cause!!  So much better than sitting and twiddling thumbs waiting and praying…but mind you, I was praying without ceasing!!

    I made my final visit at the hospital at 10:30ish and Liz was at 8 cm and more than ready for the little guy to make his final appearance.  I dropped off the stuff, nicely organized and then left to see to Aristole’s nite-cap routine and then headed home.

    About 11:30 pm I got a call from Gramps (Rick Gann) stating Silas had arrived and was crying his lungs out.   Praise the Lord!!!

    Final stats:
    Silas Isaiah Gann
    5 lbs 15 oz
    18 inches

    Momma and baby are doing fabulous.  And Daddy is sure a proud poppa!!  Here’s some pics for those of you a long ways out!!

    Baby Silas Isaiah Gann

    Silas & Daddy

    Mom refreshed after a shower, with baby Silas!

    The first family photo!!

    Aren’t they a beautiful trio??  God is so good!!